The Oxford Centre for Medical Education (OxCME) has recently announced the winner of a new medical educator award, in memory of the late Dr Denis O’Leary, a highly respected Oxford educator and clinician.


This unique award has PATIENT-CENTREDNESS as its primary focus. It is open to UK and international medical/clinical educators who have developed, implemented and evaluated innovative educational interventions in their local context.

Nominations were invited of educational interventions which address a specific clinical need, support multi-professional collaboration and where the patient voice is prominent.

OxCME was impressed by the range and quality of submissions from both experienced and early career practitioners and researchers from medicine, nursing and dentistry, in the UK and overseas.

Five excellent initiatives were shortlisted and the winner was selected unanimously by an independent expert panel consisting of: Prof. Trevor Gibbs, AMEE President; Dr Kathleen M Quinlan, University of Kent and Miss Jane Siddall, Associate Dean at Health Education Thames Valley.

The WINNER of the Denis O’Leary Award 2020
Empowering Medical Students to Design and Deliver a Social Prescribing Scheme in General Practice, led by Dr Andy Ward, Clinical Educator, School of Medicine, University of Leicester. GP and Education Lead, Lakeside Healthcare.

The other shortlisted submissions were

Developing Psychiatric Communication skills in tomorrow’s Doctors, led by Prof. Kate Sanders and team from The Warnford Hospital, Oxford.
District Nurses as Medical Student Educators, led by Dr Jenny Blythe from Bartholomew’s Hospital and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry.
All Wales Anti-microbial Resistance Network (AWARE), led by Dr Angharad Davies from Swansea University.
Virtual on Call, led by Drs Sameera Auckburally and Pashycha Gill from Manchester Royal NHS Foundation Trust

Details of the 2021 Denis O’Leary Medical Education Award will be available from September 2020, with nominations invited between January and March 2021.

OxCME is grateful for the ongoing support for this award from the O’Leary family.

For further information about the winner and shortlisted projects visit

Support links: